Thursday, 18 September 2014

Heraldry associated with the Fourteen Tribes of Galway

The fourteen tribes of Galway are:

Athy, Blake, Bodkin, Browne, D'arcy, Deane, Font, French, Joyce, Kirwan, Lynch, Martyn (Martin), Morris, Skerrett.

Photograph from St Nicholas's Cathedral, Galway

Photographs from Eyre Square, Galway

Photographs from the French Mausoleum in Monivea
Browne Arms and Crest

French Arms and Crest

Athy Arms and Crest

Bodkin Arms and Crest

Martyn Arms and Crest

The impaled arms of French and Font from High Street, Galway

Bishop Michael Browne was Bishop of Galway & Kilmacduagh (1937-76). He was responsible for building  the Cathedral of Galway that was dedicated on 15 August 1965. It is dedicated to Our Lady Assumed into Heaven and Saint Nicholas. The above arms are in the Cathedral and they are the arms of the diocese impaling Browne. The arms of the diocese are divided in three, presumably representing the dioceses of Galway, Kilmacduagh and Kilfenora.


No comments:

Post a Comment